Who can take the NDSE?

Individuals who are within the final six months of an accredited dental specialty program or individuals who have completed an accredited specialty program or dental specialty assessment and training program are eligible to take the NDSE.

What is the NDSE?

Individuals wishing to pursue licensure as a specialist in Canada, must pass the NDSE in their specialty. The NDSE is a one-day examination, administered once a year. Successful completion of the NDSE will allow an individual to obtain licensure as a specialist anywhere in Canada.

Select a specialty from the list below, for details regarding the NDSE.




The NDSE Application and Registration Guide provides an overview of the NDSE process. 

How to prepare for the NDSE

The NDSE Protocol contains all the information examinees are required to know about writing the NDSE including:

  • schedule and check-in information
  • examination blueprint
  • examination regulations
  • test accommodations
  • appeals
  • sample questions by specialty

Examinees should read the Protocol carefully well in advance of the examination. Download the 2021 NDSE Protocol. (Revised April 2021)

The NDSE will be administered electronically at Prometric test centres. The NDEB’s e-Exam Orientation should be reviewed prior to taking the NDSE.

Specific preparation material for each specialty examination can be found by visiting the specialty specific page using the links above.